ERC - European Regional Committee

The European Regional Committee held its 2003 meeting during the 54th ISI Session in Berlin, Germany. The most important points at the meeting were:

- The following new members of the ERC were nominated to replace those retiring in 2004: Eva Vedel Jensen (Denmark), Sara van de Geer (The Netherlands), Ingrid van Keilegon (Belgium), Andras Zempleni (Hungary), Soran Vondracek (Croatia), Antonia Turkman (Portugal), Jürg Hüsler (Switzerland).
- The Steering Committee of the Séminaire Européen de Statistique (SemStat) consists of Ole E. Barndorff-Nielsen, Bärbel Finkenstädt (Chair), Wilfrid Kendall, Michael Sorensen, Gesine Reinert, Aad van der Vaart, Leo Held.

The ERC thanks the retiring members Dominique Picard and Holger Rootzén for their work for the Semstat Steering Committee.

• The most important task of the ERC at the moment is the

25th European Meeting of Statisticians

which will be held in Oslo during July 24-29 in 2005.

The meeting will be organized jointly by the Norwegian Computing Centre and the University of Oslo. The Scientific Programme Committee consists of Aad van der Vaart (Chair), Oernulf Borgan, Jeffrey Steif, Gareth Roberts, Sylvia Richardson, Ursula Gather and Tomasz Rolski. Chairman of the Local Organizing Committee is Arnoldo Frigessi, and the Deputy Chairman is Nils Lid Hjort.

The meeting's website with preliminary information is at

www.ems2005.no

• The minutes of the ERC meeting in Berlin can be down-loaded from the ERC webpage at the address

http://www-m4.mathematik.tu-muenchen.de/m4/erc/

Claudia Klüppelberg